Free Time, Free Will

Post LibCamp and pre OU I’ve had a little more time to let my mind ramble of it’s own free accord. An issue that’s often at the periphery of my mind’s eye is free will. I’m drawn to a passage from David Eddings’ Enchanter’s End Game. The context is important, it’s a fantasy, yet does not detract from the meaning of the exchange:

 

“You let me believe”

“I have no control over what you believe, Pol,” he replied in his most reasonable tone of voice.

“You tricked me!”

“No, Pol,” he corrected, “you tricked yourself.”

 

“I have no control over what you believe…” that phrase has haunted my judgement of free will more than any other, it’s brevity critiques it’s simplicity. If it is the case, that no-one has control over another, then we must free Charles Manson and dismiss Milgram. But if the reverse is true, I don’t know what to think.

Leave a Reply

